Students Shine at OSWALD Awards



Students were awarded academic, employee, department, and ASCC program awards.

This year's OSWALD Awards Ceremony was a Penguin star-studded event with over 100 students being recognized for their outstanding achievements. As guests arrived, they had the opportunity to pose in front of the camera with props for fun photo-ops and fill their plates with delectable refreshments.

Following heartfelt introductions from Dr. Edwards and ASCC President Gurraj Singh Dhami, award recipients from each category were individually called to the stage as an ASCC member shared glowing comments from each nomination-testimonies of the passion and dedication of Clark's students.

Students were recognized in the following categories:

- The Academic Awards are presented to students who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in their academic endeavors. These students have taken every opportunity to learn and go above and beyond to submit exceptional work. They are dedicated to their studies and display skills and abilities to make them lifelong learners.
- The Student Employee Awards are given to students who have an outstanding attitude toward work and build cooperative and collaborative relationships with others.
- The Outstanding Student in the Department Awards are given to students with outstanding course work who demonstrate intellectual pursuit and make extra efforts for the department.
- The ASCC Program Awards recognize students who are involved with programs that provide students with outof-class opportunities to enhance their learning experience, engaging them in educational, cultural, and social events.

The Penguin Award



President Dr. Karin Edwards, *left*, presented Jude Georgeades-Tambara with the Penguin Award. This year, there were seven nominees for the prestigious **Penguin Award** – an annual tradition, awarded to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the Clark College community. This award is based on student performance in academics, leadership, community, and college service.

When Dr. Edwards announced her name as the winner, Jude Georgeades-Tambara was in shock, immediately turning to hug fellow nominee Malina Siharath. The room erupted in applause as families, friends, staff members, and fellow students celebrated Jude's win.

"Over the past two years, I've watched Jude grow in confidence and leadership skills." Darci Feider shared in Jude's nomination. "Now as a third-year Student Ambassador, Jude continues to impress with her ability to connect authentically with both prospect and current student. Her infectious enthusiasm and positive attitude make her a joy to work with and a strong representative of our college."

Well done, Penguin Award Nominees!

- Edith Aranciaga
- Veronica Bustillos
- Mary Chavez
- Jude Georgeades-Tambara
- Ashlynn Runnels
- Malina Siharath
- Seth Stigall Barranco



After the awards, students were congratulated. **Student Employee Awards**

- Madelyn Ablin
- Bree Anders

- Hannah Apacible
- Jessica Aryku
- Josh Bergstorm
- Adley Bran Beltran
- Elina Bui
- Valeria Campos-Parada
- Beth Castellani-Kelsay
- Kal Dean
- Tysson Dykes
- Sola Feldheger
- Darian Ferguson
- Leonardo Miguel Gallardo Dextre
- Jennifer Gallegos Ruiz
- Kelsey Giltz
- Chris Grasser
- David Haas
- Emily Haasl
- Leena Kovalenko
- Naomi Lauser
- Mireille Lueguer Ortiz
- Jasen Melton
- Maria Nehnevaj
- Zac Pfenning
- Kira Rilling
- Isaac Rodriguez
- Makiah Rodriguez
- Andrew Sabourin
- Lillie Sawyer
- Norah Scrivner
- Demitri Smith
- Onyx Soliz
- Gabriella Thepvongsa
- Obsidian Truver
- Taylor VanDyke
- Spencer Venable

- Johanna Wagner
- Destiny Weisweaver
- Cassy Whitmore
- Kyra Wohl

Outstanding Student in the Department Awards

- Montana Ackerson
- Michele Badgley
- Alexander Betthauser
- Veronica Bustillos
- Anna Carr
- Zoë Demming
- Chris Garwood
- Ashlyn Paterson
- Mackenzie Permin
- Ava Reichow
- Anthony Santoyo
- Angel Shetley
- Noah Shular
- Nova Speights
- Thao Tran
- Phillip Volkov

ASCC Program Awards

- Yaksi Amezcua
- Grace Anderson
- Ash Baker
- Anais Caldas
- Anna Carr
- Elena Castillo

- Javier Castro
- Jonah Charles
- Mary Chavez
- Majic Clark
- Cecil Cowan
- Emily Cowan
- Avreet Dhami
- Chela Donaldson
- Korben Edgar
- Beheshta Eqbali
- Misha Fennerl
- Austyn Fuerstenberg
- Jonathan Gauna
- Sean Gentry
- Jude Georgeades-Tambara
- Carleigh Green
- Akim Kasumba
- Kyrsten Kolodko
- Kate Laubernds
- Mia Lorimor-Mills
- Natalie Mace
- Abigail Ng
- Francisco Nino-Dimas
- Braedon Pitman
- Lindsey Quiroz
- Zoe Rojas
- Annie Rose
- Michael Scheidt
- Jacob Scott
- Malina Siharath
- James Simina
- Tolen Spring
- Rylen Stelmach
- Lucy Webster
- Phoenix Zabriskie

Photos: Clark College/Malena Goerl